The Avenue Project // Havoc EP

Band: The Avenue Project Album: Havoc EP Location: Melbourne Date of release: 10/07/17 Genre: Melodic Hardcore/Punk band Reviewer: Michael Dixon For Fans Of: Defeater, Touche Amore, Anti Flag

So I only discovered this Melbourne-based Melodic Hardcore/Punk Rock band back in February this year, playing at YOUR LOCAL aka The Irish with Brittle Bones and Foxblood. The thing that really stood out for me was definitely their highly energic and powerful stage presence and how well they connected with the crowd. Five months on, they have now recorded their debut EP called “Havoc”.

Opening track 'Kaoss' explores their more subdued and laid back melodic style with lulling guitar riffs and softly wailed vocals from lead vocalist Chris. From here, the track segways into a raw gritty chorus and the catchy rhyming lines of “Social hysteria, couldn’t be scarier”. 'Sediments and Crustaceans' kicks off at a faster pace with some punk-esque gang vocals and rougher screams/cleans shared between Chris and Jordan. 'Havoc' takes on a greater punk rock rebellious edge especially with backing vocals from bassist Tim yelling “I'm trapped, I'm trapped!” Lyrically, the song is about being physically and mentally trapped by the laws and rules of society. Feeling like you have no freedom or voice to express yourself without being judged or criticised for it.

'Malevolence' is a mellowed out rock ballad which is starkly contrasted by Chris’ dark vocal delivery about seeing through another person’s lies and deception. The track builds in intensity with heavy guitar riffs and slamming drums into a gripping and relentless chorus. The closing track 'Anarchy' is also the first single to be lifted from the EP and was released back in early June with a lyric video. It’s probably the most solidly constructed track on the EP and it finishes it on a high note. Lyrically, this track delves into topics including society being treated poorly by a corrupted government and dealing with issues such as greed, poverty and mental illness. The line “Lost in the streets, drowning within. We’re the only ones, who will stand up and fight” sums this up perfectly.

Vocals: 8.5/10 Guitars: 9/10 Bass: 9/10 Drums: 8/10 Production: 9.5/10 Lyrics: 8/10 Songwriting: 9/10 Personal Enjoyment: 9/10

#TheAvenueProject #ToucheAmore #Defeater #AntiFlag

Nu Shit


  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Spotify Icon
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey RSS Icon

© 2020 Behind The Scene Official -